Tuesday, 17 November 2009

Pembrokeshire sports awards short list announced

The finalists in the hotly-anticipated 2009 Sport Pembrokeshire Awards have been announced.

The judging panel has named three finalists in each of the 12 categories. The winners will be declared at a grand presentation ceremony on Friday, November 27th at Folly Farm.

Councillor Rob Lewis,
Pembrokeshire County Council Cabinet Member for Sport, was a member of the judging panel.

"This year has been without doubt the most difficult to judge," he said. "The standard of the nominations has been outstanding. It is breathtaking to think there are so many exceptional sportspeople in our county."

John Deason, Manager of Sport
Pembrokeshire, the sport development department of Pembrokeshire County Council, said the awards ceremony would be an opportunity to show appreciation for the many coaches and organisers - as well as for the high level achievers that are a feature of Pembrokeshire's strong sporting tradition.

He added that
Pembrokeshire is leading the way in Wales in the numbers participating in club-based sport.

"The scale of support for these awards reflects the strong base of community-based sports clubs across the County, and the huge range of different sports that are played," he said.

The Sport
Pembrokeshire Awards were first held in 2007 and are sponsored by Chevron, The Western Telegraph, Folly Farm and Radio Pembrokeshire.

Sport Pembrokeshire Awards 2009 - Finalists

Coach of the Year
Jim Buck, Steve Matchett & Robin Withers, Huw Morgan, Amy Yelland

Female Sporting Achievement
Molly Furnival Doran, Shan Roberts, Samantha Rossiter.

Male Sporting Achievement
Joe Allen, Adam Davies, Luke Llewellin,

Boys (U16) Sporting Achievement
Alaric Jones, Harry Owen, Elliot Scotcher

Girls (U16) Sporting Achievement
Bethan Davie, Angharad James, Hannah Lewis, Poppy Lewis

Disability Sport Award
Colin Bond, Rhys Eynon, Leah Scott, Richard Young

Junior (U16) Disability Sport Award
Emma Cox, Kristian George, Marcus James

Unsung Hero
Ronnie Beynon, Phil Devonald, Stuart Lewis

Club Organiser of the Year
Royston Badham, Lynn Delabertouche, Angela Miles

Team Achievement of the Year

Cresselly CC 1st XI, Tenby Bowling Club, Welsh Gymnastics Team Members from
Pembrokeshire and their Coaches

Junior (U16) Team Achievement of the Year
Broad Haven School Gymnastics Team, Crymych RFC Junior Section, Sir Thomas Picton School U16s Girls Hockey Team

Contribution to School Sport Award
Dean Flood, Brenda Scourfield, Sahana Sekaran


Post a Comment

| Home | Main Site | About Us | Contact Us | Follow us on Twitter | Join us on Facebook |